Symphonic Season 19-20


Ravel with Gabriela Montero

  • Dates 15, 16 and 17 May 2020
  • Ticket prices €12 / €34 / €44 / €59
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 19-20

This concert has been cancelled.
More information >>

The always spectacular Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero collaborates again with the OBC, this time with one of the most performed piano concertos of the 20th century, that of Ravel. It is the last great work of the French composer, who presented the premiere in Paris in January 1932. It premiered in the United States three months later, simultaneously in Boston and Philadelphia.

Strauss expressed in music the emotions provoked by the reading of Cervantes' Don Quixote, placing the figure of the protagonist in the voice of the cello, contrasting it with that of Sancho Panza, whilst maintaining the drama, irony, tenderness and sense of adventure that appear in the novel. The concert premiere in Barcelona opens with the piece by Philip Glass for two solo timpanists and orchestra.

GLASS: Concerto Fantasy for two timpanists and orchestra
RAVEL: Concerto for piano and orchestra in G major
STRAUSS: Don Quixote, Fantastic Variations on a Knightly Theme for cello and orchestra, Op. 35

Barcelona Symphony and National Orchestra of Catalonia (OBC)
Kazushi Ono, conductor
Gabriela Montero, piano
Javier Eguillor and Rafael Mas, timpani
Jose Mor, cello
Viola to be confirmed

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here